More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

These days, there are an increasing number of people purchasing high-end products. This trend happens for some reason and I believe that it is a negative development.

To begin with, the tendency to possess high-ranking products is caused by some factors. First of all, since people are getting wealthier, they tend to present their prosperity and social status in order to get others’ respect as well as admiration. To illustrate celebrities often wear luxurious clothes at social events so that they can have a good impression on others. Secondly, top brands offer high-quality items, which enable customers to use these leading products within a long time. As a result, they can save a great deal of money spent on new ones. Finally, people might be affected by peer pressure. In fact, no one wants to be inferior to their friends, so they usually follow fashion trends even when high-end items are quite expensive.

However, there are several reasons why the disadvantages of growing consumption of brand-name products outweigh the advantages. One of the primary reasons is that this tendency can lead to people's burden of debt. For example, although the high-end items are usually lavish, some people try to borrow money to possess them. Consequently, they own a large amount of money and might put their future financial security at risk. Additionally, in terms of society, this tendency can cause the development of materialism. In other words, people may focus more on luxurious products such as clothes or cars than spiritual and moral value values, including kindness and sincerity.

In conclusion, people tend to purchase luxurious items due to the wish to show their wealth and social status, the high quality of these products and peer pressure. At the same time, I believe this is a negative trend as it contributes to the burden of debt and the growth of materialism.