Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or reaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A growing number of people proposed that students should commit themselves to voluntary activities for the society instead of sheerly focusing on school work. I agree with this statement and the reasons will be given in the paragraphs below.

Enjoying unpaid community service can bring numerous benefits for students involved. First of all, this approach will certainly help learners gain practical knowledge as they are bound to put the theories they learn at school into practice. It is impossible for one to fully grasp an idea or a lecture if that person doesn't have hands-on experience as to how the principles can be applied. To illustrate this point, I will take myself as an example: 2 months ago, I had a chance to teach English to underprivileged children on a small scale and after that, my communication skills that the teachers imparted at me in school was thereby enhanced as well as the quality of being patient. Therefore, we can see that voluntary work without charges can help not just the whole community but also the volunteers themselves.

Secondly, satisfaction may become the immensely pleasant result of students' involvement in charitable activities. As we all know, schools' curriculums are getting more and more arduous and stressful as students will have to spend a large amount of time at academic institutions so the act of performing these aforementioned deeds can come in handy. The pleasure can be derived from supporting others in need as students begin to acknowledge the worthiness of this life. For instance, 98 percent of pupils in a survey carried out by Harvard university said affirmatively that they relished aiding neighbors and children and the lethargy were removed completely. Most students would find these activities rewarding considering the benefits they produce.

To conclude, there is no doubt that students will actually reap tangible results from their commitment as volunteers.