Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory

part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving

the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do

you agree or disagree?

Some people think that free social activities should be a mandatory part of high school programs. While students who take part in these activities may face some unexpected issues, I agree that educators should design required community

services for their high school students without any payments.

On the one hand, the most considerable trouble affects students when participating

in public activities is the shortage of time. Particularly, they may be less focused

on their core lessons in class, even lack leisure time because of spending too

much time for community services. Besides, there are obligatory services which

do not suit to everyone. For example, working for a charity at mountainous places

or suburban areas requires students to have to go far away or teaching sports to

younger children at outdoor stadium demands a good health. All of these types of

work do not fit to the weak girls or unhealthy students.

On the other hand, attending unpaid public services will bring great benefits to

high school students. Firstly, these programs create a positive environment for

students to be raised in a holistic way, not only improving their social knowledge

but also motivate their perception about the outdoor life. This is really an

appropriate method to train them on how to work for the interest of community

instead of living only for themselves. Secondly, taking part in public activities

such as volunteer campaigns and charity organizations is a highlighted point which

makes their resume brilliant. If an applicant who has the same qualification, as

well as experiences with other candidates, would like to apply for a scholarship

or a competitive job, his past activities for the interest of community may make an

outstanding contribution in helping him defeat the others.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages, it seems to me that we

should design more unpaid obligatory community programs for high school

students.