Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Young generations are becoming selfish and losing the sense of responsibility. Society complains about teenagers’ rudeness and questions what the problem is in education system. Some people think high school should pay the bill for the negligence of teenagers’ ethic education. Even there is an idea that high school compulsory program should include free community service. I think it’s a wise idea which could make benefits in lot aspects.

The advantages of undertaking community service program in high school are apparent. Firstly, such a school program could help government to cut the fiscal expenditure. Every year, government would spend a huge fund on public service which includes community service. The work of this kind of service is not complicated, but it requires a large number of people to do it in long term. If one student spent one-class time (or 1 or 2 hours) on the service each week, it would help society save labor force. Secondly, doing community service is a good way to teach students to take social responsibility. Most teenagers may no longer do housework nowadays, however they have to prepare themselves to enter adult’s life. The community service program could contain looking after elderly in neighbouthood, cleaning the street and cooking for the poor. These works would train students’ life skills and also build their sense of social responsibility.

The lastly, the community service teaches students to understand the need of other people, they may consider others more in later life.

Beside the above points, I believe there are some other benefits we can gain from the measurement and it’s necessary to undertake the program. Also the adoption of community service as a compulsory part of high school program is meaningful to education development.