Some people believe that violent media directly results in violent behavior.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that media occupies an influential position in this society and one school of thought holds the view that violence displayed on this platform could trigger individuals’ progressive impulse. I concur with this notion on the grounds that visual inputs could affect one’s cognition without intervention of regulations.

For one thing, violence at a moderate degree is deemed emotional outlets of artists, which is groundless but to partially reveal the downsides of society. In this sense, the way by which actors convey the messages to audiences and viewers through films or any form of media could be viewed as a good approach to educate the general public about the consequences of such actions. Most directors usually have the propensity of glorifying justice in their works as eventually, the viciousness is likely to lose. Hence, it instills a sense of law-abiding for individuals so as to not engage in illegal activities.

For another, a section of artistic works tend to exaggerate the stark reality and ability of characters, leading to the emergence of growing violent offenses these days. The targeted audiences of mass media is the majority of youngsters, who are interested in action films or online games. Characters in virtual world or big screens act on the basis of encoded algorithms and scripts, accompanying sound and visual effects which is exceptionally appealing to this group. However, fighting scenes displayed sometimes are indeed detrimental without certain restrictions since it potentially creates illusions to those whose age are ineligible. The ramification is that children, with no interpretations of what they see, could blindly duplicate those actions and gradually change their behavior.

To conclude, notwithstanding the fact that violence in media is an important spice of films, I believe that it should be restricted to a certain level so as to ensure the purity of ethical behavior and protect the youth.