Some people believe that we have too many choices these days. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It argued by some that, today, us living in first world countries have too many choices and opportunities in life. I find myself completely agreeing with this statement, and this essay will discuss the reasons behind my opinion.

In the first place, what should raise awareness is the large number of food choices that we have: in cities' neighborhoods supermarkets appear apparently out of nowhere, and sometimes two or three grocery stores selling the same products end up being close to each other. The same happens for restaurants: even though having a big number of locations to have dinner might sound great, most of the time people find difficulties in selecting a place because there are too many from which to choose. For example, the growing quantity of different restaurants serving different cuisines from all over the world: Chinese, Japanese, Thai, Korean, etc. one person arrives to spend up to one hour deciding what to eat! In my opinion, this phenomenon is not ideal for anybody, neither restaurant owners nor consumers.

Similarly, transportation methods are growing at a high rate, and this can be seen both in large and small growing cities. Nowadays, people can choose between public transport facilities, taxis, private vehicles, Uber, car sharing, bike sharing, etc. From my perspective, having a bigger number of options on transports' methods can ease the life of many people. For example, those who cannot drive, ride a bicycle or walk long distances, can rely on other ways to get across town without difficulties.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that we do have too many choices in too many aspects of your everyday life, but this is not necessarily a negative thing: although it complicates our life, at the same time having options can simplify it.