Some people believes that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. Do you agree or disagree

Many people believe that all teenagers should be obliged to contribute to the local community on an unpaid basis since this would be beneficial for both individuals and society. I disagree that we should force all young people to do unpaid work and expect social gaining from it.

In my opinion, most young people have already been burdened with much pressure from their curricula and extra-activities. Academic performance-centred schooling is now as demanding as a full-time job since educators always push their students to catch up with the grind. Otherwise, they might leave themselves behind with their studies. When teenagers can spare some time, they should be encouraged to engage in leisure pursuits. For example, participating in a sports team or joining an art class would equip them with opportunities to hone teamwork skills or excavate the art prodigy from within that could go along way in life. Additionally, they have many years of working ahead of them after their graduation.

At the same time, I do not believe that society would reap much from forcing teenagers to do unpaid work. It would be paradoxical to have young people do unsalaried work without letting them make their own decisions while other people doing the same work can get paid. Doing this would trigger resentment among teenagers and their parents since it goes against an equal society's values. Furthermore, without any remunerative encouragement, teenagers tend to opt out of responsibilities and do things in a lacklustre manner, which would lead to counter-productive results.

In conclusion, I disagree that ones with power should not force young people to do work without pay since that would not be beneficial as expected. Instead, teenagers should be encouraged to work on a volunteer basis