Some individuals tend to have their first infant at an older age. In my essay below, I will mention some rationales for such a preference. Meanwhile, I reckon this trend can have both merits and demerits.

It can be seen that more and more couples prefer to have a child when they become more stable and sustainable in their expenses, occupations and find themselves in a state of maturity in order to raise a baby. Nowadays, life framework, especially for young people, become more hectic and career-oriented. By illustration, they spend a considerable amount of their youth ages to work more, and as a result, earn more money. They think if they choose to own an infant, they have to be sufficiently independent in terms of child-related expenditure as well as him/her welfare and security. Besides, it is proven that the majority of young people prefer to live by themselves before getting married. So, they may feel it is better to have a fair chance to be prepared for having a new child and ready themselves before shouldering any new intense and challenging responsibilities and duties.

On the other hand, such a tendency has its own advantages. For an instant, when the baby comes, the family is on a balanced and stable occasion. Not only regarding economic issues but also the parents are mature enough to undertake the parental tasks and provide him/her with an appropriate life. Furthermore, at this age, parents are more experienced and wise to participate in raising a child and make accurate decisions in the infant upbringing process because the child's informative years, which directly affect its future path, thoroughly depend on the family environment and circumstances. In contrast, if the parents who want to raise their first child are older, gap generation will be more widened. Consequently, it will be more likely that they will not understand each other words comprehensively.

To conclude, although several couples prefer to have a baby at an older age due to what mentioned above, from my viewpoint, such a trend can be equally constructive and destructive based on aged gap complications.