Some people claim that museums and art galleries are not needed today because everyone can see historical objects or art works by computer. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that museums and art galleries have a great role to play to connect the masses to their ancestors and historical events. Some people say that a computer can be used in place of these sites. Personally, I am partly in favor of this idea, and I also believe that technology would hardly replace them but supplement them.

Undoubtedly, as computers have been revolutionizing these days, individuals are now able to access to see any types of archives and art works from anywhere. It is possible for remote residents to enjoy these sites without traveling from long distances or paying admission tickets. For instance, a website named Google maps allows people to browse street views through 360 photo technology, which make them feel like they are standing right at this position. Thus, the activity of computing provides individuals a tool for enjoying the historical and art sites just on the screen.

On the other hand, there are two main reasons why museums and art exhibitions are essential today. For one, they help visitors get the feel of rewarding and memorable experiences by organizing various activities requiring participation that is a hard nut to crack for computers to replace. Moreover, more tourists visiting these sites means both the locals and the authorities will benefit from it. In other words, the government can earn incomes through tourism by taxes and then reinvest to innovate these sites so that they can attract more people paying a visit there. Hence, by visiting these places, people have an opportunity to experience all the special features vividly and help this country earn more money.

In conclusion, it seems to me that while computers offer a convenient tool for those who do not have a chance to visit these places, visiting such places in person brings more practical experience and benefits the locals in terms of finance.