Some people claim that not enough of the waste form homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays, the large amount of garbage thrown into the environment is one of the crucial concerns in the globe. It is said that the recycled rubbish from households is too little and the only solution to solve this problem is to enact the laws. I strongly disagree with this idea because of two main reasons below.

To begin with, recycling garbage should be a voluntary activity that should be done by citizens. It is not necessary to punish individuals by financial fine or other types of punishment because they do not recycle waste in their homes. Instead of creating the laws to force people recycle, government should make policies to raise people’s awareness of rubbish recycling. For example, government can put more recycled trash cans in public areas such as parks, main streets to attract people’s attention in recycling.

The second reason for government not to strict the laws to force people to recycle rubbish that is cycling is quite intricate so that people need to be educated first. Therefore, government should design programs to encourage civilians recycling which gains many benefits to them and make it be their habits. For instance, central authority might broadcast propaganda through media communication about the effective methods to recycle trash at household scale.

To sum up, I believe that law enactment is not the only way to increase the rubbish-recycled amount in households. Government would rather raise individuals’ awareness of benefits they can earn from doing cycling rubbish and let people do it as a volunteer habit.