Some people claim that not enough of waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way of increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

These days, the amount of waste production at home has not recycled effectively, and therefore the only possible solution to tackle this issue is considered is the introduction of legal laws by officials which contributes for the increase of recycle rate. While I agree that the encouragement by governments to recycle more waste has lofty benefits, however there are also mere disadvantages which we discuss below.

As for increasing recycling in dwelling place, in the countries several laws should be introduced. Generally, the enforcement of these laws could be as much as effortless which means that the regulation would be equal and straightforward to everybody. Another benefit of introducing laws can be helpful to establish a daily habit in citizens which will lead to a regular recycling at home. The last but not least, housekeepers will have lucrative jobs if the government supports them by enforcing laws with individuals’ interests.

In contrast, despite having beneficial sides, it would be unfair to equally enforce laws without any exclusions. There is needed alternative solutions to address this issue. As an example, people who have not produced waste are not able to increase recycling comparing to those producing the massive amount of waste and the increase of recycling, therefore, cannot be achieved by enforcing laws. These introduced laws may create other more serious problems such as dumping unnecessary and excessive waste and this also means that people may be severely pressured to recycle more than they can actually do.

To sum up, making people recycling of their waste is a controversial issue. Having had some minor drawbacks, the introduction of laws seems the only solution for the growth of recycling rate and making householders’ jobs profitable.