Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recyle more of their waste?

Environmental problem is such a widespread concern including recyling.I totally agree to the statement that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. In my opinion, this should be compulsory.

First and foremost, recycling is economical. After being used, things often be thrown away while they can be recycled and reformed into the others for different aims. For example, when you have drunk a bottle of Coca Cola, then you send it to the factory, its materials will be used to make some new products. Recycling means making use of things and their components so that the national economy can save countless money and the resources will not be used up soon.

On the other hand, our environment is endangered. One of the main reasons is the waste itself. You can see on the TV thousands of poor marine creatures die from the rubbish under the water every year. Furthermore, we even have the waste "mountain" which poison not only our daily lives but also our next generations' lives.

As far as I am concerned, laws that making people recycling more of their waste should be passed as soon as possible because of the 2 reasons I've just mentioned above. There should be some strict punishments for people not following the laws. And recycling need to be broadcasted so that citizens know the advantages of it.

In a nutshell, I strongly suggest that governments have a responsibility to make recycle is a legal requirement.