Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In modern society, the impact of unrecycled waste on the environment is at the forefront of public awareness. Many people, including me, reckon that the amount of processed rubbish is unsubstantial, thus postulating the government to consider recycling waste a legal requirement. In this essay, I will substantiate why laws are needed to make people recycle more.

First, by establishing laws requiring people to treat rubbish, the government can improve each individual's awareness of protecting the environment and being responsible for processing waste. Admittedly, an official law might affect social attitudes toward treating rubbish since it is obligatory, which means disposing of the unrecyclable waste is illegal, and treating personal waste is a compulsory request. For example, in Japan and Korea, it is mandatory to categorize rubbish into several types before delivering it to factories, which supports the process of treating civilian waste. Moreover, a law can motivate recycling activities and promote an environmentally friendly lifestyle in the community since people are more concerned about their rubbish to avoid law violations and severe monetary fines.

Secondly, by creating official laws, the authorities can ratify a plethora of policies to compel citizens to recycle and be conscious of the conservation of the environment. Concerning the actual efficiency, budgetary retribution is more effective than other remedies as people might notice and adhere to legislation with pecuniary punishment instead of propaganda campaigns which are pointless and straining on the national budget. Due to the obligation to recycle rubbish, policymakers can give the disobedient heavy penalties acting as a deterrent against the breach of laws and enhancing social behavior. Additionally, the government can promulgate several acts to curb the amount of unrecyclable rubbish disposed into the habitat as long as constraining the overconsumption of long-term hazardous waste, thus enacting some incentive policies to motivate citizens to recycle more which can improve the social concern to the environment.

In conclusion, legislation is an indispensable factor to enhance people's attitudes toward recycling rubbish and creating a sustainable environment. The government should implement laws and policies properly and gradually to prevent the habitat from being infested by human disposal.