Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

As if a large scale recycling was not enough of a problem on its own, it turns out that now governments have to deal with it at household level. In this essay, implementing laws to augment recycling is advocated despite a tiny flaw.

Putting these laws to action would be a tough push. People just throw away all of their recyclable materials since it is easier for them to do so. Survey of 1000 households in England shows that a considerable number of people (about 60% of the participants) still vacillate or find it laborious to recycle despite environmental benefits.

However, mandatory recycling protects the environment in a fantastically balanced approach. As trees are relentlessly cut down and destroyed, the recycled paper produced from trees is being utilized continuously, minimizing deforestation and felling. With the recycled paper being a good example, other natural resources are also reusable in this very way.

Furthermore, more recyclable materials are produced as a result of these laws, thus workers are required to collect and process them. This means that job opportunities are created within a community or those having part-time jobs get expanded to full-time positions. In return, the entire economy benefits from this. For example, in Iran there are many scavengers who make a living by searching through refuse and garbage bins to find recyclable objects such as bottles and cans.

On the whole, I aver that laws are required to add to the extent at which waste from our houses is recycled. After all, encouraging and developing the act of recycling is just like protecting ourselves and our beloved planet