Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recycling domestic waste has been part and parcel of our lives. Although a certain group of people argue that the only way to encourage individuals to recycle household waste is that governments should introduce legislation, I do not concur with the idea that passing a law is the only way.

This law could persuade more and more householders to separate all waste into different bins. People, who fail to adhere to this law would be fined as a punishment or there would be prison sentences for repeat offenders. These measurements would act as a deterrent and encourage people to obey the recycling law.

However, governments should do more than simply introducing a recycling law. If governments make some educational programs for people, this will be effective. For instance, children could be thought about recycling at schools, and house owners could be informed about the environmental impacts of household waste. Additionally, more budgets would be allocated by governemtns to improving recycling facilities which would input materials in some way by separating mixed recyclables. Consequently, waste is processed more effectively, regardless of whether or not people separate it correctly at home.

To conclude, Although enforcing a law would be one way to influence people to dispose of their waste ,allocating budgets , educating children and informing householders about the effect on recycling waste could help tackle this problem.