Some people claim that study abroad has great benefits to a student’s home country. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, more and more parents choose to send their children to study in foreign countries, which raises the question of whether it is lucrative to their home country. Although I believe that there are numerous benefits to their country, I also think there are some downsides.

On the one hand, there are some advantages that students can gain from studying abroad. The first one is that pupils can get more opportunities to learn from prestigious institutions around the world. This not only broadens their horizons but also allows them to grow to their fullest potential. For example, an oversea student can contribute to developing the country in many aspects with their knowledge learned in college. Another benefit is that pupils can experience different cultures in an international environment. This will equip them with new perspectives and make them more open-minded as well. Therefore, most abroad graduates can get good jobs due to their activeness and innovative mindset.

On the other hand, it is not certain that studying abroad is entirely good. The first reason is that there is an alarming portion of students not returning home due to several factors. They may suppose that the government could not offer stable career prospects or the salary is not as high as that in other nations. Consequently, the country has to suffer a huge brain drain. Besides that, after a long time staying abroad, many people are out of touch with the current social scene in their home country. As a result, fresh graduates may find it difficult to blend in or get involved in the conversations at the workplace.

In conclusion, although the values that studying abroad brings to the country are undeniable, its drawbacks should be taken into consideration. It is vital that the government take some measures to attract students after their graduation.