Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years it is far more normal for people to take a gap year to travel or work before attending university. While I accept that this trend could sometimes be beneficial, I believe that it is more likely to have adverse impacts.

On the one hand, the aforementioned trend can bring about some advantages. Firstly, during the period in which people work or travel, they can accumulate invaluable first-hand experience, which most university courses fail to offer. This is likely to benefit them in many aspects of their development. For instance, one’s interpersonal skills could be significantly improved when he or she travels to different places and meet new people. Another possible upside to take into account is the fact that people can realize their real passion after this trial period. That is to say, they will know whether the major they plan to opt for to study at university is really suitable for them or not after actually working in the field.

On the other hand, I would argue that the drawbacks of this trend are more notable than its benefits. One of the major problems that the individuals who choose to work before going to university may be faced with is their lack of experience and knowledge. It is obvious that university education can provide them with a lot of precise knowledge which is needed for them to be competent at work. Moreover, a period of not studying, regardless of its length, could discourage people from returning to school afterwards. In other words, they may find the academic journey less appealing after a period of enjoying the bliss of travelling freely or earning money. This can be detrimental in that proper education is crucial for people to advance in the constantly changing world of work.

In conclusion, it is my firm believe that the potential dangers of not going directly to college or university after finishing high school are more significant than the possible upsides.