Some people fear that technology is gradually taking over control of our lives, while others think that it has led to many positive developments in all aspects of their lives.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some people hold the attitude that technology seems to be shaping and directing our lives, the others maintain that it has brought considerable benefits to the society in different ways. From my perspective, I am more inclined to the former.

On the one hand, opponents of the view that technology advancements have casted dazzling light on the world. In terms of economy, the presence of cutting-edge technological innovations would be a great power to boost work productivity, enabling high profits. For instance, technology appears to be of great assistance to get difficult tasks done in several rural factories where workers might struggle to meet basic needs. With technology as our medium, people gain better access to a reservoir of information, which helps broaden their horizons as regards health and science. Along with that, cyberspace has been flattening the world in a way that people could connect to each other and keep themselves informed regardless of geographical locations.

On the other hand, it seems to me that technology has been extending beyond the boundaries that people could not understand. The first and foremost explanation would be that technology has evolved to an extent that the number of machines and robots have been rising on an unprecedented scale. The utility of artificial intelligence in society also means less involvement of human beings in such activities. To use a common example of this practice, the roles of manual workforce are being replaced by banks of assembly chains in manufactories. Another reason would lie in the fact that new technologies are not merely augmenting our abilities. Having said that, people’s skills and intelligence might be curtailed to develop because they are not given any chances to put them into practice.

All things considered, I would reaffirm that technologies, which are regarded as extensions of ourselves in frameworks of knowledge and action, could not completely displace human's roles in daily routine. Therefore, people would be better off using them effectively in such tasks to yield expected outcomes.