Some people feel that advertising has negative effects on our society, because it encourages people to buy more unneeded items, while others feel that it is beneficial for our economy.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this day and age, advertising become a double-edged sword that impacting on human society. While it allows manufacturers can promote their products and make a profit, it can encourage wasteful consumption of goods. In my perspective, I would argue that the benefits of advertising may not outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, advertising plays an important role in the global consumer economy, advertising bringing information about the new product from manufacturers to everybody in time. The wise consumer can make a comparison with other products on market and decide on their proper product. For example, it is never easier than clicking or searching on the internet, or finding on a magazine or social media, ect people can see all information including ingredients, origin or quality,.. As a result, thanks to advertising, the revenue of companies increases, through advertising the companies can reach the maximum number of potential customers, as well as create profitable companies, then reduce the price to meet the competition of the market.

- On the other hand, I believe that advertising may have a downside, it impacts directly the buying behavior of consumers. In fact, there are a lot of products that do not true as what is shown in advertising leading to appear of fake products. The consequence is that the consumers, especially children and the old buy poor quality products with up to the fair price or may not be useful or necessary, then those bad products will end up at landfill sites, representing a huge waste of resources.

In conclusion, I cannot deny the good function of advertising as the main driver of the economy. However, in my opinion, improper advertisements need controlling strictly due to their detrimental impacts on consumers and the whole community as well.