Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments Others contest those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit What is your position Discuss bot

It is believed by some that governments should regulate the designing of new buildings while others believe owners of the buildings should be given freedom to choose an appropriate design. This essay discusses both sides of the views and then I will give my own perspective.

Some believe that governments should take over the designing of buildings because they can decide which designs are appropriate for a city and perform proper town and country planning. In other words, if there is a centralised government authority to regulate the designs, they can plan all upcoming buildings in a way that new buildings fit aesthetically and won't harm the look and feel of a city. For example, in Singapore, authorities only approve designs which comply to the unique style in a particular area. Moreover, it also worth to mention that governments can appoint the most appropriate and experienced professionals to engage in designing of buildings so that they can ensure each and every designing are in proper hands, leading to beautiful cities eventually.

Those who oppose to the above notion argue that owners should have the freedom to choose appropriate design in a way that it fits their personal preferences and financial situation. In other words, owners can come up with architectures which are not only cost effective, but also easy to construct. Moreover, it is generally the case that whenever government authorities involve in processes, things tend to be more complex and time consuming because procedures could take extended time to complete.

In conclusion, both sides of the views have their merits. However, I believe that government involvement is better in new constructions due to the facts that it will eventually lead attractive cities with properly designed buildings.