Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Most of the countries exercise a strict norm regarding the minimum age to get married. And a significantly large majority of the people stick to the perspective that an individual should be atleast 21 to marry. I completely agree with the above idea due to the following reasons.

Marriage is a legal contract made out of need for belongingness where two people unite. Therein, it is a must that both the individual in a marriage should be biologically and cognitively mature. For instance, in a child marriage the bride is underage to make decisions and also turns out to be biologically inactive. There are also chances of teenage pregnancies which leaves the young couple in a state of ambiguity regarding health and parental roles. So, 21 years can be considered as a statistical average in terms of physical and emotional optimum of maturity.

Moreover, a person completes or achieved a basic level of education past their 20’s. However, when a person commits himself or herself to a marriage during their teenage or childhood there is a high probability of them dropping out of school and college owing to other responsibilities like household chores, childcare and even jobs for livelihood. This in turn makes people qualified for better jobs and a good standard of living. In addition, being literate can make a person wise and less prone to irrational problems.

As per the aforementioned points, I strongly believe that a legal age of 21 is proper and accurate. Furthermore, it also forestall young girls from child marriage and supports the phenomenon of women empowerment.

Therefore, it can be concluded that legalising a minimum age to get married is a necessity and the advantages of it are manifold. Also, every country should adopt a paradigm shift which follows norms of strict marriage and relationship ethics.