Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce

the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying

goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Plastic is the leading cause of pollution and its use should be regulated. In this essay, I will discuss whether companies or customers should have the responsibility to avoid over-packaging.

On the one hand, the main reason why manufacturers and supermarkets should take responsibility lies in the fact that they often pack their products for protection from damage during the distribution or storage. Of course, there are some alternative options with environmental benefits, but using plastic is more lucrative. Therefore, many people think that they must cover the cost of recycling and collecting packaging materials, especially plastic. Otherwise, supermarkets or retailers should offer discounts to customers who purchase either products with disposable and eco-friendly package or ones without a package.

On the other hand, I think that customers should start avoiding such unnecessary overpacking of products. Many people prefer over-packaged products as they believe more packaging can protect products like foods from contamination and give them a more hygienic feeling. However, over-packaged is unnecessary, and this is just a common misconception that needs to be dispelled. Unless consumer behavior changes, the amount of packaging of goods will be increasing, let alone reducing it. Also, customers can avoid buying over-packaged goods, making consumer pressure on manufacturers and sellers. For example, many supermarkets and restaurants now use fewer plastic containers and use more recycled paper under consumer pressure.

In conclusion, although it is important to make manufacturers and supermarkets responsible for overpackaging, customers should take matters into their own hands and reduce the consumption of products that require more packaging.