Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is indeed obvious that one of the reasons contributing to the deterioration of the environment comes down to discarded plastics from packaging of goods. A question has been raised that if they are good producers who should bear the responsibility towards this problem. In contrast, by all accounts, the issue can be lightened by controlling the consumption of customers.

It cannot be denied that with the popularization of e-commerce, online shopping is in demand, along with offline shopping, and has transformed the consuming habit of customers. It is worth underlining that not only were goods wrapped by plastics as they used to be, but it is also covered by carton boxes or styrofoam nowadays. As a consequence, the environment has to face up with a triple-increase in the number of litter thrown away from packaging. Therefore, it would be correct to assume that consumers should raise their awareness of buying behaviour. Making this become a reality, there are many ways such as buying goods from stores directly or reprocessing boxes or plastics.

On the other hand, the aspect to consider regarding the reason for expanding the number of packaging of goods of manufacturers concerns economics. On account of the demand of consumers, manufacturers are required to mass-produce products covered by boxes, plastics or soft foam. It can be observed that these materials are cheap and convenient, however, it takes them a long time to decompose. The primary reason for this attitude is that most producers take into consideration maximizing the profit outweighing conserving the ecosystem. Once companies pay more attention to methods to lessen the non-biodegradable materials such as substituting organic packaging, this will turn the environment into greener and greener.

In conclusion, if this issue continues to endure, our planet will be destroyed in many ways. Therefore, from my perspective, not only manufacturers but also every individual need to unite in order to conserve and recover the ecosystem.