Some people feel that playing computer games has a negative impact on children's health and social skills. Others say that it has a positive impact. Discuss both views.

Technology has gone through unprecedented advancement. Furthermore, it is common for each household to have one computer, and it is popular among all ages, especially young children. In this essay, I will discuss how computer games could have undesirable effects on children’s psychological dependence and social development and the possible methods for parents to prevent it.

What are the negative effects? Firstly, it leads to serious gaming addiction, which may result in children neglecting their self-care and schoolwork, which could affect their health and grades. A recent survey found more children having sight problems due to long exposure to the computer screen. Another point is, that video games usually cause poor social development due to reduced physical contact, including spending less time with friends and family. It is common to see children glued to the screen instead of having playtime after school.

In view of this, parents need to play an active role in reducing these negative effects. As a start, putting screen time limits should be helpful in combating game addiction, so these children can do other beneficial activities such as playing with their friends and doing activities with their families. Moreover, it is also important to encourage more healthy activities such as sports, music or hobbies, to allow them to have wider options of fun activities other than computer games.

In conclusion, while our technology has evolved rapidly, it has also brought many unwanted effects of addiction and poor social development in our younger generations through computer games. I believe it is important for families to be educated on the negative impacts of gaming and the possible ways to curb it, before it's too late.