Some people get into debts by buying things they don t need and can t afford What are the reasons for this behaviour What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem

Borrowing money from the banks for unnecessary or unaffordable purchases is one of the issues widely discussed nowadays. The main reason for this behaviour is an irresistible desire to “keep up” with others and the pervasive influence of advertisements.

Most of the pleasure is at reach to many, thanks to the introduction of leasing and credit cards. With these, the term ‘affordability’ is out of question. As a result, no one is taking a step back while thinking about buying a product. In addition, advertisements too are grabbing the attention of buyers in a significant manner.

We all need to change our attitude towards things we do not possess at present. It is normal to lack some things in life. It is much more important to be healthy, live in peace and strive to become a better person, which has nothing to do with possessions people have.

In order to prevent such uncalculated risks, measures must be taken to raise awareness among people. Also, one must learn how tob manage his budget in order to get a balance between necessity and pleasure. Keeping a ledger of income and expenses monthly would be very helpful and gives an image of how his budget should be spent.