Some people hold that old people should be taken care at home, while others think they should be placed in old people’s house. What is your opinion?

Thanks to the development of medical science, there are an increasing number of elderly people in the world. A popular belief is that the seniors should be looked after at home. Indeed, it is the children’s responsibility and obligation to take care of their parents when they are old. However, a better way to ensure them to live a happy life is to send them to the nursing home.

In such retirement homes, there are a lot of well-trained professionals and a wide range of medical facilities. In addition, they can receive a proper diet prepared by dieticians to meet their individual requirements, which is especially conducive for those old people in poor health. For example, they could have regular medical check-ups so that any disease could be diagnosed in its early stages. What is the most beneficial is that if any disease strikes them, medical services are immediately available.

Living in nursing homes, seniors have more opportunities to communicate with their peers who have similar hobbies and interests with them. They do not feel lonely and can do a lot of things together, such as doing morning exercise, playing games, and exchanging memories from their past. On the contrary, if they live at home, they are often left alone when their children and grandchildren are away working or studying.

We have to admit that children have duties to take care of their old parents. Parents have devoted their whole life to the growth of their children and it is time for their children to repay their care and love. However, nowadays people are confronted with fierce competition and suffer from great pressure. They have to devote more time and energy to their careers and they are too occupied to spare time for their old parents.

To sum up, I believe that old people should be sent to nursing homes.