Some people prefer to live in small family units while others think it is better to live in large family groups Discuss both of views and give your opinion

In recent decades, besides traditional extended families, there also have been many nuclear families. While some people seem to support the idea that it is more convenient for people to live in large family groups, I would argue that living in small family units is the better choice.

On one hand, the traditional extended family is one of the most common family styles, especially in Asia countries. First, this is due to the fact that people used to believe that when living in a large family group, family members can make a close-knit relationship with each other. Thus, when someone had some troubles, family members can help each other easily. Second, in Asian culture, the first thing children need to learn is how to pay respect to elderly people. When living with their grandparents, they will improve their personalities and skill sets by becoming more responsible.

On the other hand, I think living in a small family unit is the better way nowadays. In extended families, there are about three or four generations living together under the same roof. Therefore, a generation gap can happen frequently since the lack of communication between family members of different ages. In addition, today the nuclear family style with two generations become more popular for several reasons. In the nuclear family style, children's mental and physical health can be taken care of more carefully by their mom and dad. Sharing financial burden problem is the other reason why nuclear families became more common. While in the past, in extended families, men was a breadwinner and women stayed at home solely, in small family units wives can share financial problems with their husbands by doing jobs.

In conclusion, while some people said that extended family is the better family style, I believe that this kind of family is more likely to have a harmful impact