Some people prefer to work for a big company instead of a small, family-run, business. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

It is widely acknowledged that job seekers tend to apply to prestigious companies instead of working for unknown facilities or family-run ones. From my perspective, while laboring for huge industries as opposed to small-scale companies can be beneficial, the drawbacks of this should be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why working for a vast business can be beneficial, the most significant of which are to improve qualifications and experience learning from the best. With regard to the former, a huge company will enhance the level of staff to increase work productivity. For example, they will invest in a lot of training courses about professional skills for employees. And these courses will help staff expand their horizons at work. When it comes to the latter, a large company typically attracts a pool of contingent employees' talent. For instance, working with excellent people results in having the opportunity to gain plenty of knowledge about different areas.

Contrarily, laboring in a large industry can have some demerits associated with bureaucracy and stiff competition. When it comes to the first idea, the upper echelon works irresponsibly and bullies staff. For instance, they use their power to force employees to work with high intensity. As far as the second point is concerned, the huge business is the place where staff are ready to combat for their promotion position with the pressures of high work. For example, It’s not uncommon to witness staff who are willing to do mountain projects to fulfill the assigned responsibilities by their superiors.

In conclusion, I am inclined to believe that despite the positive effects that working for a large company can exert, the negative implications should not be underestimated.