Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them.

In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

In recent years, playing video games has become increasingly popular. While some positives can be resulted from such a trend, I believe that it has more downsides.

Playing computer games can be both educational and entertaining. From the educational point of view, many games force players to learn useful skills such as critical thinking and problem solving. This can be seen in puzzle games, for example, where players have to think about multiple choices or methods they already have to solve a riddle. Regarding amusement, the virtual worlds that are offered by video games give gamers an exciting experience. To clarify, while individuals can control different elements of a game, this gives them that sense of power to achieve goals and finally get rewarded. Therefore, there seems to be some merits of playing video games.

Nevertheless, it seems to me that those advantages of video games are outweighed by the disadvantages. Firstly, although those options of entertainment are interesting, they can be addictive in many cases. Such a result may happen when individuals, particularly children, stay awake for long hours to play, which would become a habit in the long term. Secondly, despite the educational side of some games, playing them can have detrimental impacts on the ability to learn. Because gamers spend more and more hours staring at screens, their ability to concentrate can be negatively affected besides the harmful effects on memory. Finally, this behaviour can have negative results on relationships since players become involved in virtual worlds where they are not interacting with real people. Thus, in my view, these downsides are more crucial.

In conclusion, there are advantages of video games, including the educational aspect as well as the pleasurable experience of playing. However, I think that the drawbacks on behaviour, learning and relationships are more significant.