Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Some others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In this materialistic world, companies are trying to sell their products more and more through advertisement because this is the best source of marketing. Some people deem that these ads are nothing but public incentives to buy unnecessary things, While others contradict the statement and believe that commercials contain the product details as well as aware the masses about the product. I completely agree that advertisement makes people to buy useless things.

Mostly ads are prepared to get the people's attention and make them buy the product. The ads are made so beautiful that people may not stop themselves and purchase the product. Consequently, they buy unnecessary things and sometimes due to these purchases they fall into debt. this statement is true as per the last year survey which was published by the Indian government stated that the expenditure of the people double compares to the previous year as the people influenced by advertisement.

Furthermore, these commercials contain a good amount of information which helps consumers to buy a product as per their need and also give them a chance to compare with other product. but sometimes few ads have exaggerated information, so people are being influenced by this fake information and they buy the product and getting cheated. For instance, last year my friend bought a power bank by saw advertise on tv. In the ad they mention that this product charged minimum two phones but actually after using 2 to 3 week, my friend realize that this was not capable to charge more than one phone.

weighting all the compelling arguments, I believe that advertise is the main reason behind the public's unnecessary purchases and also responsible for increasing the rate of people fall into debt.