Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that advertising has an amazing appeal to the consumers that stimulates their purchases of goods or services. While some people believe in this, I believe that the popularity of advertising makes people gradually lose interest in it.

On the one hand, advertising is usually good at persuading customers because of its ability in bringing brilliant marketing messages to their products. Normally, companies have to pay much money and effort for market research and understanding customer insights. This helps them create unique and effective messages for the products, which contribute greatly to attracting the customers’ attention and stimulating them to buy the products. For example, Coca-Cola had successfully promoted its product called Coca-Cola Zero Sugar. This drink is aimed at diet people or who are conscious of diabetes and health. The way Coca-Cola advertised it as a no-calorie cola changed consumers’ perceptions since it is supposed that the company’s products are harmful to human health. As a result, the product had rapidly become popular and the company’s sales revenue increased significantly.

On the other hand, consumers these days have no interest in advertising because of its prevalence. With the advance of the Internet, sellers can easily promote their products online on different platforms, however, the frequency of ads sometimes annoys the customers. For example, when you want to update news on an online newspaper, but the ads cover most of the content and you need to turn it off several times to have full information. This affects a person’s reading experience and makes him or her being irritated. Consequently, the customer no longer wants to watch any ads.

In conclusion, although the persuasive ability of advertising is undeniable, I believe that if the advertisers focus on the creativity and quality of the products rather than the quantity, they could attract many potential customers.