Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been a growing trend to use advertising to attract customers. The question is whether advertising is something common to people so it is no longer effective. As far as I am concerned, advertisement is still a powerful tool for businesses to introduce products and attract the attention of customers.

There are many reasons for people to believe that customers do not pay attention to advertising any more. Firstly, advertising gives consumers misleading messages. For example, there are many products in the beauty sector which exaggerate their benefits instead of telling people the truth. As a consequence, customers no longer believe in advertisements. In addition, there are a large number of advertisements shown in newspapers, on public transportation, and on the internet. To be more specific, it makes advertisements boring and common to people. It is really hard to see a standout advertisement today.

However, I still contend that advertising is a necessary tool for businesses if they want to make a profit. Reaching out to a larger number of consumers is the most significant benefit of advertising. For instance, by using celebrity endorsements, companies can introduce their new products to customers. Even when consumers do not buy it, they still know that there is a kind of product available on the market, rather than no one knowing about the existence of a product. Additionally, with the advent of social media and modern technology, it is easier for companies to collect habits and hobbies from users. Then, organizations can run targeted campaigns that are only for particular sectors of customers with regard to their income, their social activity, and their spending. Therefore, advertisements go to specific types of people and match their demands.

In conclusion, advertising remains in its important position in the business field, even though some people are not attracted by advertisements. In the world today, there is no business that operates successfully without advertising.