Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

it is argued by some that advertising plays a crucial role at convincing us to purchase products, while there are others who believe we have started ignoring advertising since it has become very typical. In my opinion, I believe that depending on the type of advertising, either buying a product willingly based on it or ignoring the advertisement can take place.

On the one hand, many thinks that at persuading consumers to buy products, advertisement is very prosperous. this is mainly because a deciding factor towards promoting products in an effective way is to keeping pace with changing consumer demands. this cannot be achieved unless there is specialists to identify these demands. Thanks to the new academic majors related to advertising such as consumer behavior, advertising sales and advertising research, it is now possible to train specialized staff for promoting products.

On the other hand, advertising are not attractive to consumers anymore, according to some. With consumers being overloaded with brands constantly shouting at them “buy now”, “pick me”, “new and improved” via email, SMS and other common ways with no updates, it is obvious that these advertisements do not draw attention as before. A commercial break, for instance, once was broadcast on television which was an attention-grabbing one to me. After a while, I got so bored of the ad that I could not help changing the channel when it was aired.

Finally, I believe that whether advertising being thriving or not being attention-grabbing anymore, depends on the type of the advertisement. Should the advertising agencies know their target audience’s latent needs and use up-to-date methods to promote their products, these audience will be swayed by the advertisement even if it is an unreal need. The specialists can recognize the audience’s demands to advert a promotion which stick in their head. these well-trained workforces can use up-to-date popular methods and mediums such as online adverts in social networks, celebrity endorsements and even word of mouth advertising to promote a product which grab audience’s attention and stick in their head.

In conclusion, I believe that according to the type of advertisement, we could buy a product avidly or we disregard it.