Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, advertising has been heavily employed to increase market share when competition among companies is more intense than ever. However, while some feel that advertisements are now so commonplace that customers are not affected by them anymore, I agree with those who believe that advertising today is even more powerful than in the past.

On the one hand, it could be argued that adverts tend to be powerless. First of all, supporters of this view believe that a large number of individuals have developed a negative attitude towards advertising since they are bombarded by it every day, such as billboards on streets or pop-up ads on the Internet. This gradually forms an unconscious habit in them to avoid or ignore ads if they can. Furthermore, a common belief among many people is that commercials seldom convey the truth about products. In contrast, they generally polish the sales message to attract and motivate consumers to purchase their products. As a result, many consumers have a distrust on what advertisements say, and only buy an item after examining it cautiously.

However, I side with those who believe that advertisements are still effective. Firstly, repetition, the fundamental element for ad memorability, is maximised. I would argue that whatever gets advertised heavily seems to get purchased the most. For example, many customers may be eventually convinced after listening to a constantly repeated commercial about a particular product. Consequently, enterprises invest a considerable amount of money in advertising to improve their brand awareness as much as possible. In addition to this, an ad’s emotional appeal is another essential factor. Advertisers strive to make creative, unique, and memorable ads in order to emotionally and subconsciously connect potential consumers with the products and to encourage buying decisions. Finally, advertising agencies can create more precisely targeted ads than ever. Savvy marketers can analyze demographics to increase the efficiency of their ads. Therefore, I believe that advertising today, in reality, is far more effective than at any point in the past because of the raw data available to target potential consumers.

To conclude, although ordinary citizens are likely to have a more unfavourable perspective towards advertising, advertisers still manage to find potential buyers thanks to the massive data they have. Therefore, on balance, I believe that the power of advertising is even stronger than in the past.