Cars damage the environment and their use increasing. Why? How can this be controlled?

It is sometimes argued that cars are becoming popular these days and they have devastating effect on the planet. Several problems have resulted from this tendency and it should be tackled by a number of effective solutions from both individuals and governments.

Admittedly, there are several reasons associated with growth in car ownership. From a financial perspective, the standard of living in developing countries are improving nowadays, which means the demand for vehicles also increasing.

In terms of technology, the number of cars are likely to increase in a way that best suits for significant development of automobile industry, which may lead the cost of cars reducing, this reason make it easier than ever for people to buy cars.

However, measures can be taken to provide a solution to the problem. Firstly, the governments should introduce laws to limit the carbon dioxide via taxes on cars or upgrade and expand facilities transportation as a way to encourage people take public transport rather drive. For instance, with cars up to 5 seats in Vietnam, the tax is applied that could be run up to 50-90% tax on the car's original sticker price. Secondly, individuals also take responsibility to raise their awareness of environmental protecting by using renewable energy such as electric cars or bicycles. To illustrate, this is highly beneficial for those who are bicyclists due to they are able to stay healthy and saving money.

In conclusion, there are several reasons of increasing cars and appropriate steps need to be address these problems, not only by the governments but also by individuals.