Cars damage the environment and their use is increasing. Why? How can this be controlled?

There is a widely-held view among people about the widespread use of cars has been created a wide range of detrimental impacts on the environment. There are several factors that can be held accountable for this trend, and I believe some measures can be applied to tackle this problem.

To begin with, financial reasons and lifestyle changes have led to an increase in cars consumption. Many countries have witnessed a growth in their economic development, which contributes to the same pattern in the average income of their citizens. Cars have become more affordable to purchase, and in developed countries, normally two or more members of a household are likely to have their own car. In terms of lifestyle, as cars are getting common, people drive their cars more than in the past for work, shopping and leisure. For instance, shopping malls and leisure complexes are usually sited outside urban centres, providing large parking areas to attract customers.

However, there are some effective and practical measures that should be considered to handle this problem from a governmental perspective. Firstly, it must be a governance priority to adopt standard emission policies that state the maximum amount of waste a person can produce. If violating this restriction, the individual will be monetary fined, or punished in the worst scenario. This action would cut down on the average amount of pollution from personal cars, collectively making a significant difference on a global scale. Secondly, the policymakers should relocate the country’s budget to improve the quality of infrastructure and public transportation, which encourages citizens to make the most of those rather than using individuals’ transports. This would minimize the pace of environmental degradation, acting as a stimulus to alleviate sustainable development if persisting in the long term.

In conclusion, it might seem sensible to me that many reasons ranging from financial to personal perspective can be accounted for the growth in car use. Meanwhile, there are substantial ways to address this issue.