Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advertisements are the most effective one-way communication to tell the characteristics of our product to the audience. A section of people opine that advertising is the most powerful tool to convince people to buy our product; however, others assert that it no longer draws any attention. Both the sides of the arguments present the rational ideas of the topic which will be dilated in the following paragraphs, followed by my opinion.

Beyond any qualms, there are several compelling reasons to prove that people still pay a lot of attention to advertisements. First, frequent exposure to the same images and story persuade people’s mind and emotions. Moreover, repetitive advertisements affect consciousness of mind and emotionally connect them with the product. For instance, the advertisement of “Fevicol gum” for woods is designed in such a way that every Indian family connect with it as it tells the story of many generations from one family using the same sofa-set just by changing it’s color and cover every time and it is fixed with Fevicol gum at the time of manufacture. As this advertisement repeat so many times, hit the emotional connection of family heirloom and insist people to make furniture with the use of Fevicol gum only.

On the contrary, there are myriad of logical thoughts to support the other view. A section of people believe that advertising no longer attracts the attention as some advertisement has been everywhere or become common nowadays. In addition, people get used to of the same product that they are not much interested in them now. A salient example is that when the fairness cream “Fair and lovely” came in Indian market, got a lot of fans but now it’s like a good for nothing product for people as it has been used so much by so many people in past. So, its advertisement is not going to attract people now.

However, I second with the view that right way of advertising can attract people towards the product. To exemplify, “Whisper Sanitary Pads” are very popular in market though expensive than others, because they do not overdo with the advertisement melodrama and advertise their product time to time with new variants only. Thus, any product can remain in limelight with the right way of advertisement.

Although, it has positive results such as provide knowledge about the products in market, but the negative effects like letting others feel down in their dark complexion by the advertisement of fair and lovely fairness cream, can not be overlooked. But what will be the future of good advertisements in the commercial television industry? Still stays a question for many people.