Over the last decades cell phones had made it into our daily life and, to some extent, many see them as essential tools. Cell phones are powerful instruments that allow us to surf the Internet, to text quickly, to receive vital news, and to communicate with people far away. Concerns arise, however, when it comes to using phones in public spaces, like parks or movie theaters. Some claim that cell phone conversations should be even banned in crowded places, while, on the other side, others disagree. This essay will examine those tow opposite viewpoints and explain how banning cell phones is actually unfeasible.

Along computers and the Internet, cell phones are one of the most outstanding breakthrough of the last century. Regarded at beginning as nothing more that an expensive accessory for well-off persons, cell phones gradually have become widespread among the population. Over the years, prices have dropped, technology has rapidly improved, and devices have become more and more compact as well as reliable. Consequently, it is commonplace for people nowadays to talk on the phone on the street, on the bus or in other public spaces. In some cases, cell phones can save life, when it comes for instance to calling an ambulance or the police.

Conversely to the positive aspects mentioned above, relying on cell phones to conduct private conversations in public spaces, is a quite annoying practice. Especially loud talking is a disrespectful toward other people who in some cases may need concentration or are seeking for relax. In other contexts, like during a concert, can even negative affect the players' performance. In the wake of these facts, some call for a total ban of cell phones in public spaces, which, for many reasons, is a long shot. First, cell phones are instrumental in saving lives. In crowded places, it is not uncommon for some people to pass out or, worst, suffer from an hearth attack. At a time where minutes can draw the line between life and death, a quick call to the emergency number can make the difference. Secondly, governments cannot interfere in such a way in the private lives of the citizens, so that a complete ban would be unconstitutional.

In conclusion, it is therefore essential that people learn how to manage their phones and to respect each others. In public spaces like parks and movie theaters conversations should be permitted but users should also be aware of other people around them and try to use a moderate level of voice and proper language.