Wedding is probably one of the most relevant event in a person´s life. It is no surprise therefore that many people believe that this day should be properly celebrated and some of them do not care about how much money they spend on it. For those spending caps do not simply exist. On the other side, many consider giving away a lot of money for a wedding just a waste of financial resources and thus try to keep spending as low as possible. In this essay I will briefly examine those two opposite points of view and explain why I think that spending a lot of money on a wedding celebration is wrong.

For those who do not have to face up to financial hardships, it seems to be natural to celebrate a wedding in the most expensive way they can. For example, well-off people hire professional singers, a music band, they rent a huge villa with an enourmous park or a breathtaking view on the ocean, and delight their guests with delicious, tasteful dishes. Furthermore, they spend a lot of money on presents, luxus items, shining cars and catering. More astonishing, not well-off people do it as well. If affluent families can affor an expensive marriage party with virtually no consequences on their assets, people who struggle to meet ends sometimes do not hesitate to borrow money from a bank to accomplish the desire of having an unforgettable wedding ceremony. Well, this is to me a dangerous approach, since it can weak the financial stability of a couple, who perhaps has to pay mortgages and other bills. Even worse, financial problems can lead to break up a relationship.

I agree therefore with the people who claim that disagree on spending a huge amount of money on a wedding celebration. First of all, the most important things when it comes to a marriage, are love and trust in each other. Those values cannot be bought or gained even with the most expensive celebration. Secondly, the money saved can be invested in a more practical purpose, like renovate or buying an apartment, purchasing a car or just saving for rainy days. It does not make sense to me to be sorrounded by hundreds who are almost unknown and to throw away money on ordering expensive food or renting a gigantic location. It is better to have a good time with people you know, you love, you trust and spend less money, rather than wasting time, money and energy only to flaunt wealth.

To sum up, I strongly agree with those who believe that spending plenty of money on a wedding is wrong. It is not money that make a wedding worht being celebrated. What it really matters is having a good time with friends and the beloved ones.