Some people say that all young people should be required to stay in full-time education until they are at least 18 years old. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a contention in a circle that people under 18 are compelled to receive full-time learning. I personally disagree with this argument because staying in school for a long time produces detrimental effects on children such as carrying out a terrible threat to their health and preventing them from being active and innovative.

The first point opposing full-time studying for kids and teenagers is that it is likely to risk their health. It cannot be denied that studying all day puts intense pressure on children, which is an underlying cause of sleep deprivation and mental breakdowns. The plausible explanation of this is that young people, especially those under 10, are potentially vulnerable so that accumulating much difficulting knowledge and doing plenty of complicated tasks place them under intolerable pressure. For example, Korea is notorious for their high rate of adolescent suicide and autism as their pupils have to learn 11 subjects in almost 20 hours a day and have no weekend to relax.

Lacking social skills is another component against the full-time course. A considerable proportion of unemployees results from this method of study as in order to achieve dream jobs, there are many requirements besides an education background. Contrastly, an involvement in many outdoor activities such as sports or social clubs not only boosts self-esteem through achieving goals but also helps pupils learn better as these activities require skills like memorization or management. For instance, despite proverbial cleverness and industriousness, Asian people are left behind by many other countries due to their lack of real-life experience and critical thinking.

In conclusion, it is clear that the risk of health and lack of soft skills are the two biggest drawbacks of full-time learning. Thus, it is abundantly demonstrated that children under 18 should not attend full-time courses.