Some people say that an attitude of co-operation should be encouraged in the youngsters while others argue that the spirit of competition should be encouraged. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Every growing teenager needs to be instilled many virtues, values and morals to succeed in the rat race; i.e. leading a successful life in this materialistic world. Many sociologists opine that the quality of co-operation should be inculcated in the youngsters whereas entrepreneurs argue in favour of competition. This essay is an attempt to critically examine both these conflicting perspectives and state my view.

On the one hand, in the contemporary world, peaceful co-existence has been the strategy at political, business and sport diaspora. To illustrate, to win any team game, mutual co-operation and understanding are the secrets to success. In case every Footballer desires to score goal, no one would be able to do so. On the contrary, when everyone plays as a team and be at the position of their assignment, the team plays in cohesion and wins. Undoubtedly, the spirit of co-operation needs to be inculcated in the adolescents – the leaders of the morrows.

On the other hand, unless one learns and practices to compete with the rival, failure in any field can be guaranteed. Darwin’s theory of “survival of the fittest” comes to cement this standpoint. To substantiate, there are many IT companies, which compete with one another to bag more contracts so that they can sustain in the field. As such, youngsters, who would be skilled professionals in future need to imbibe the spirit of fighting to victory.

Having deliberated upon both co-operation and competition, it is opined in no uncertain terms that the juveniles need to be trained to be co-operative because it would be a confidence building measure and the norm today is peaceful co-existence. Yes, competition is important but much rivalry can spoil the effort and mutual understanding; hence the quality of perseverance should be second to none.