The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear energy outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nuclear energy has increasingly become a tremendous alternative source of energy, for it gives very many options such as making atomic bombs, economically feasible and clean energy and a remedy for some of the dangerous diseases. Though the energy is not without its inherent potential risk; however, it generates umpteen opportunities if it is used judiciously.

The monopoly of fossil fuels, it enjoyed in the yesteryears, seemed to have plunged because of the ever-increasing ongoing demand of atomic energy. The former emits noxious gases which doubtlessly destroyed the pristine ambience of the incredible environment, besides its rising cost; whereas, the latter seems to have maintained a robust camaraderie with the ecosystem. Besides, many countries, regardless of their wealth, tend to make nuclear bombs making it as a bulwark to protect them if there is an insurgency or threat from outside. The vulnerable disease, further, called cancer has no longer been a nightmare amid people since the day medical science began to use the energy for medication.

Even though the meritorious impacts this energy brings, its meritless aspects cannot be overlooked on flimsy ground. The world had witnessed the colossal power of the atom bomb, dropped by the USA, which ultimately decimated tens of thousands of people in Nagasaki and Hiroshima, in addition to devastating the fertility of the soil. Moreover, the radiation discharged by the Fukushima nuclear reactor in Japan due to a terrible Tsunami, leaving people with irreparable health problems.

Overall, though the nuclear energy poses threat to humankind, it provides manifold benefits and if the government uses it judiciously, all its disadvantages can be redressed rationally.