Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that the optimal measure to boost public health is by expanding the number of sports amenities, others say that this would have little bearing on public health, thus other methods are needed. From my perspective, I believe that the second view is more prudent.

On the one hand, erecting more sports centers offers more chances to people to improve their health. These places allow people to have access to myriads facilities to do exercises. In rural areas, people seem to struggle when they work out due to the lack of proper facilities whereas, in cities, where gyms or yoga clubs are abundant, citizens can easily go to these destinations on a daily basis to use treadmills or do yoga, thus being healthier day by day. In addition, sports centers would be ideal rendezvous for meeting and socializing. Because people can communicate with their friends and families in such places, they may consider working out as a method of alleviating stress and expanding their social circles; therefore, they can not only improve their physical health but also their mental one.

However, I would argue that there are other factors determining whether the public could be healthy besides going to sports centers. First, having a diet with wholesome food plays an indispensable role in boosting citizens' health. No matter how much time a person dedicates to working out, if this individual keeps having fast food regularly, he or she will be highly likely to suffer from obesity, heart attack, and other diseases. Second, to be healthy demands for good lifestyles. Those who lead a sedentary lifestyle or usually stay up late would be prone to serious diseases although they do go to the gyms or yoga centers. Therefore, expanding sports centers would be futile if people have unhealthy lifestyles and diets, which means increasing the number of sports centers would have marginal impacts on public health.

In conclusion, although expanding sports facilities would be beneficial for people to a certain extent, I would contend that this would not be the most effective way to boost the health of the citizens and other measures would be more efficient in boosting public health.