Some people say that the best way to improve road safety would be to increase minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is assumed that raising the minimum legal age for riding vehicles is the best approach to ensure the road safety. Although I believe that this measure will have some positive impacts to some extent, it is far from being the best one.

To begin with, increasing the minimum driving legal age would lessen the likelihood of getting into collisions with commuters. This is because an increasing number of traffic accidents are induced by reckless driving of young adults as a result of peer pressure which makes them willing to boast their driving skills and daring. Therefore, by raising the permitted driving age, the government can join hands with parents and schools to refrain these careless drivers from controlling the wheels and posing threats to other travelers. However, this would only act as a deterrent to only one culprit of a whole host of road crashes, thus, there are more plausible methods to tackle this.

The government should introduce more stringent penalties on traffic violations such as longer imprisonment or higher fines which could play a role as a warning to potential offenders. To illustrate, if these people foresee the consequences of their actions, they will be more responsible while riding. Admittedly that some of them, especially those from the rural areas, may not be fully aware of the driving rules or the new punishment systems. However, the public sector can step up campaigns to raise public awareness about road safety and the end results of not abiding by the laws.

In conclusion, I agree that increasing the minimum driving age can limit the accidents caused by teenagers. Nevertheless, people should consider other measures such as imposing stricter laws and punishment that can prevent not only the youth but also careless drivers from the road.