Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent decades, the question of whether animal experimentation should be conducted or be banned has sparked a controversy among the public. Although testing on animals is conducive to humankind, I believe that this should be replaced by alternative methods due to ethical issues.

There are a myriad of compelling reasons why animal testing is mandatory. Firstly, since there are few similarities of gene structure between human and animals, if the drug cures animal, it could be a treatment for people. For example, with the assistance of animal testing, scientists are able to put a step forward in medical progress, thus, an increasing number of new remedies are created such as vaccines for HIV, which save billions of human lives. Secondly, in order to minimize animal sufferings, researchers will not conduct experiments unless they are excessively demanding. In fact, testing for cosmetic industry is now restrictively banned in a variety of countries, namely Japan or New Zealand.

However, the downside of animal testing appears far more significant. First of all, it is acknowledged that while conducting experimentation, people will subject animals to trauma and reduce the quality or even the length of their lives, albeit humans have no moral rights to do these activities. Second, we can take alternative methods of data analysis, including computer models and studying cell structures rather than the whole animal as benefits of research using animal do not justify sufferings caused.

In conclusion, although animal testing brings certain advantages, it is imperative for government to ban these experiments on non-medical products with the purpose of alleviate sufferings to animals. However, I hold a belief that there are still alternative ways to test medicine.