Some people think that money spent on developing technology for space exploration is not justifiable. They believe there are more beneficial ways of spending this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the fast pace of technology proliferation, the question of whether or not money should be spent to explore the universe has become a controversial topic. Although space exploration might be beneficial to humans in the long run, I believe that there are some aspects worth being funded than this.

To begin with, it is a fallacy to consider that the long-term survival of the human race depends on the ability to move off the Earth. In other words, due to today context of development with the unprecedented population growth, an increasing amount carbon emissions and waste have been discharged every day, which consequently leads to the formation of a harsh environment making humans unable to inhabit. Thereby, the public sector should use the governmental budget to seek for living conditions in other planets. However, such a scenario is exaggerated because the habitat on Earth would take million years to be completely destroyed. Furthermore, if space exploration is carried out by the private sector, they will be more properly funded and more likely to reach a groundbreaking achievement. Thus, the governmental bodies should allocate money to improve living standard of inhabitants.

Since space exploration necessitates huge monetary resources to develop, taxpayers would be more satisfied if their money is spent on healthcare and education, which would be directly conducive to their lives. This is because space exploration merely provides solutions for long-term problems, while there are also more urgent fields that are also in need of financial support such as subsidies for the unemployees. For example, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, people in various part of the world, especially those in developing countries, are suffering from job loss and famine. Therefore, more money should be allocated to assist underprivileged people rather than space exploration.

In conclusion, despite the benefits associated with space exploration, the government should consider the welfare of citizens as its top priority. Additionally, I believe that conglomerates such as Space-X bear a responsibility to study the cosmo.