some people say that cellphones have improved humans' life. Others believe that cell phones have caused problems.

The advent of cellphones has greatly transformed our society in terms of communication and approach to knowledge. While many people opine that these devices corrupt our community, I argue that their minuses pale in comparison with their benefits.

On the one hand, this technology does pose grave ramifications. To begin with, its users can run a higher risk of contracting pathologies such as eye strain, myopia and obesity. These consequences boil down to their sitting too much while their eyes fixate on the harmful artificial light from the screen. This action, thus, has a detrimental impact on people who rely heavily on digital devices. In addition, these individuals are also prone to leading a secluded lifestyle because they hardly contact with anyone outside the virtual world, which wreaks havoc on their interpersonal skills and instigates inferiority complex talking with people around them.

On the other hand, their disadvantages, however, can eclipse the aforementioned drawbacks. These phones catalyze the interaction between people and foreigners living in distant areas. The communication of those individuals helps both of them hone their language skills and gives them a chance to delve deeper into each other’s cultures. To give an illustration, I used to converse indirectly with an Indonesian guy before and learned a lot about Indonesia’s cuisine and traditions, which I could not learn at school. Not only does the Internet connect people with others from different nations but it also helps people have more opportunities to communicate with estranged relatives and cement their relationships. For instance, many exchange students utilize cellphones to keep in touch with their family members and friends back in their homelands to mitigate homesickness in an exotic land.

In conclusion, I assert that cellphones bring more benefits than demerits since they help people learn and understand each other.