Some people say that distance learning will become the main way of teaching and learning,

and hence replace traditional schools in the future.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The desire of people to acquire new knowledges and skills has remained relevant for many years. With the advent of new technologies, some people believe that traditional educational methods will be replaced by distance learning soon. Although I believe that online education is convenient, traditional teaching brings more benefits to the student.

On the one hand, the spread of portable computers allows the diversity of people to study from every corner of the planet. Knowledge gaining has become more accessible than ever before with the advent of the Internet. All that is required of a person is curiosity and thirst for information in order to start learning new things. For example, Youtube contains a lot of free channels, where enthusiasts passionately share variety of skills from languages to carpentry. Thus, the importance of distance education should not be underestimated due to the opportunities it provides to inquisitive people.

On the other hand, the educational process is not only the transfer of data from teacher to student. The quality of this interaction also depends on a variety of psychological and human factors. People are more comfortable to learn new things in direct communication with teachers and classmates without obstacles in the form of monitors and screens. For instance, the study conducted at Russian Academy of National Economy during COVID showed that 80% of teachers and 70% of students prefer to attend university then study online. Hence, all participants realize the advantages of personal presence in the learning process due to psychological comfort.

Even though remote education is gaining its popularity due to convenience and accessibility reasons, traditional schools remain favorite for both teachers and students. Personal presence increases involvement in the studying process and, as a result, rises its efficiency.