Some people think that it is important to have a single language as an international official language. Others think that it will make it difficult to identify countries and would cause a loss of culture.

What are your opinions on this?

Few people nowadays would deny the importance of foreign languages, but at the same time, no doubt, that the learning process takes a lot of time. Considering the contradictions of the situation, some individuals suppose that having one official language on the planet would be beneficial for the mankind, while others set arguments in favor of preserving the linguistic diversity. I personally think that both opinions are worth attention, but keeping a variety of languages as a part of human culture must be a priority.

On the one hand, it is often discussed that narrowing the amount of dialects can ease the process of communication. For example, the speaking system of the Republic of China includes a great number of accents and dialects, which leads to misunderstanding of people from different regions. In this case, developing one authorized writing practice, called Mandarin, was a wise decision on behalf of the government. More than that, one commonly accepted language would prevent from studying others, which can save a lot of time and energy. In other words, depending on the situation, the idea of keeping one language can be taken into account, if there is an urgent need for this.

On the other hand, the reduction of the number of languages will certainly destroy our cultural heritage. Thereafter, with a loss of culture comes a loss of the way of life that should be protected properly. What is more, preserving a native tongue is the first key for younger generations for further education and understanding their lifestyle. Knowing foreign languages makes a person educated and well-rounded, which are essential qualities especially in the modern developing world. All in all, language is a portrait of a nation, and in order to protect it for the future, people should try to treat it respectfully.

In conclusion, I am inclined to think that both mentioned views can become of great importance, provided that humans value their cultures and languages.