In the ongoing debate about organizing children’s free time activities, it is argued that parents can effectively manage their child’s leisure activities thanks to their experience and maturity. While this may lead to numerous benefits, I am of the opinion that children have every right to decide what to do during their free hours without the influence of their parents.

On the one hand, parents are more experienced in terms of choosing what to do to get the most productivity out of their time. This is because before they became a mother or a father, they were also a teenager, just like their children. Thus, they are likely to comprehend what is going through their children’s minds and can design the most efficient timetable for them. For example, parents who have been through their adolescents would recognize the importance of fitness in a healthy lifestyle. As a result, they would foster a healthy living environment for their children by including sports activities in their free time.

On the other hand, children’s freedom is sacred and should not be controlled by those who bornt them. This restriction can deteriorate the youth’s critical thinking skill and make them become over-reliance on their family. Opponents of this idea may believe that if they do not monitor their sons or daughters, they can engage in deviant acts and ruin their future. However, this argument is not sound since it is the responsibility of the family to educate their children to stay away from such acts, not monitoring all the time.

In conclusion, although parents might be capable of creating a productive schedule during leisure time, I remain steadfast in my belief that the wishes of children about things they could do in their free time should be encouraged and not restricted by their parents.